A Summer of Short Stories

“A short story is a love affair, a novel is a marriage. A short story is a photograph; a novel is a film.”

― Lorrie Moore

Image

Ten collections of short stories. That’s what I read and studied and discussed and essayed about this year in school. And now here I am at the start of a long summer, my mind and notebook full of ideas for short stories begging to be written.

 

My challenge this summer is to take 5-10 short stories ideas and put them down on paper. I’ve even joined Camp Nano and made “Five Short Stories” my listed project for the month of July. First draft only, of course, but there is something about getting things down on paper. For me, that’s how I figure out what my stories are about in the first place.

 

So here’s to a summer of short stories. Here’s to a summer of attempting to produce photos rather than films. Here’s to a summer of growth. -LLP

One thought on “A Summer of Short Stories

  1. Pingback: Thanks again, Mr. King. |

Leave a Reply

