My Favorite Books On Writing So Far

1) On Writing by Stephen King.

This was the first book on writing I read, and because of it, I finally made the decision to take writing seriously. It was one of the best decisions I ever made.

2) Plot & Structure by James Scott Bell

Finishing the first draft of my first novel was a breeze. I’d been writing scenes of it and thinking about it for literally a decade. Turning it into an actual novel, however, was another story entirely. This book is one of the reasons I’m still a writer today.

3) Becoming a Writer by Dorothea Brande

One of the first books I read from my graduate program’s recommended reading list, this book taught me that I’m not crazy the way my brain works as a writer is normal.

4) Reading Like a Writer by Francine Prose

Another first read from my program’s recommended list, this book was the beginning of a major change in my reading habits. Now reading is not just for recharging my writing batteries, but for research as well. I believe this new habit more than anything has helped to improve my writing this past year.

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Books On Writing So Far

  1. I read “Reading LIke a Writer” upon your recommendation a while ago. It was very helpful for me, too. A friend gave me “Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within” by Natalie Goldberg, two years ago. It was the book that got me back into writing poetry. It’s very Zen.

    Like

  2. I read “Writing Down the Bones” as well and it just didn’t work for me, despite all the good things I hear about it. That just goes to show that different things work for different writers!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Thanks again, Mr. King. |

Leave a Reply

