Diagnose Your Character!

I recently “discovered” an interesting read in my Amazon WishList: How To Diagnose Your Character: Using Psychology To Create an In-Depth Character by Joshua Hoyt. While I can’t remember who it was that recommended this book to me, I will now be recommending it to all my writing friends as well.

Hoyt gives an excellent overview of psychology, with examples and writing exercises to help apply different theories and facts to fictional characters to make them more rounded and believable. While the psychology was a review for me as a once-upon-a-time psychology major, it helped me put to words the things I was trying to say about some of my more complex characters, and helped me to develop some of the ones I was struggling to “diagnose.”

One thought on “Diagnose Your Character!

Leave a Reply

