Podcast: The Art And Craft Of Story With Victoria Mixon

In a previous post, I shared why The Creative Penn is one of my favourite Podcast series about writing. Today, I decided to sift through some past episodes, and I am very glad I did, because I discovered this enlightening, action-focused discussion on the art and craft of story with writer and editor Victoria Mixon.

Particularly useful for new writers (which I still am), Mixon shares how to strengthen and deepen stories, as well as why and how thinking about key aspects of the story in advance will help with writing better and faster. Mixon also explains the differences between literary genre fiction that clarify how a writer should approach each style, and then focuses on genre writing.

I was so impressed with this 2011 episode that I bought Mixon’s book “The Art and Craft of Fiction”. I truly felt I could follow her process and actually write a novel I would be happy with. I’ll let you know how I do with that!

*Image courtesy of dan at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

